PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick Review

Anyone who knows me personally will be fully aware that I am a self professed makeup junkie. I love trying out new products and changing up my makeup routine on the daily, that being said, when Primark released their makeup range I was reluctant to give it a go.

When it comes to cosmetics, I’m a sound believer in the concept that high price = high quality. When it comes to putting something on my face, I think high quality products are especially important. However, I did stumble upon a little gem in the beauty section of my local Primark that I thought was worth sharing; The PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipsticks.

We’ve all seen the Kylie Jenner Lip Kits and Jeffree Star’s cosmetics range, they’re everywhere, and for good reason! But I hadn’t heard anything about Primark’s £2 version, and when I found a couple of pretty colours I thought why not give them a go.

1. KIKI

img_3929

PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick in KIKI, Primark, £2

Kiki is a stunning deep purple which, on my skin tone looks black. I adore how this looks in photos, it’s just beautiful, and I love how dark and vampy it is. But (and it’s a big but), it just doesn’t last on my lips. The matte formula is so dry that the lipstick flakes off and goes patchy within half an hour. It also dries out my lips and is really uncomfortable to wear… I really would not recommend this to anyone looking for a vampy dark lip for going out, you’ll be in the bathroom all night re-applying!

2. KIM

img_3926

PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick in KIM, Primark, £2

 Kim, however, is another story. Whilst it does have a very similar matte formula, it’s not quite as drying on the lips. In terms of lasting power, Kim is far superior. I can manage 3-4 hours before having to re-apply, which I really don’t mind considering the tiny price tag. I am also a huge fan of a nude lip and Kim has the perfect amount of pink undertones to prevent me from becoming washed out.

All in all, if you’re looking for a matte lipstick that won’t break the bank, go for Kim. It’s so pretty and it lasts pretty well for a £2 lip product. However, if you’re after a dark lip colour for more than just selfies, I suggest having a look in your local Boots instead.

What are your favourite liquid lipstick brands, and which shades would you recommend?

Leave a Reply

